THE EIGHTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

of The Midland Speed Club

Saturday 20th January 2018 at Lea Marston Hotel, Lea Marston at 15.30pm <u>MINUTES</u>

In attendance:- Alex Smith (Chairman), David West (Vice Chair/Tech.), Roger Slater (Secretary), John Williams (Committee), Stuart Bickley (Committee), Tony Beard (Independent Auditor) and David Bickley (Club Member)

Apologies: Jeff Allan (Committee), Fred Currell (Committee)

The Chairman welcomed Stuart who had joined the committee since the last AGM

Agenda Item No's.

- 1. Apologies for absence : Fred Currell and Jeff Allan.
- To receive and approve the minutes of the last AGM held on 21st January 2017. A resolution to adopt the minutes was proposed by Dave West seconded by Alex Smith and carried.
- 3. Matters arising from the minutes (not on this agenda). None.
- 4. To receive and adopt the Chairman's and Committee's report on the Club's activities during 2017.

The Chairman reported on a year of consolidation where, although there were slightly fewer members the proportion of members competing had risen considerably. The new web site had been very favourably received. Following the MSA rule changes there were unlikely to be any electric or hybrid cars competing in 2018 but Jeff Allan will be working with the MSA and it is hoped that these cars will be allowed to compete in the near future. A resolution to adopt the Chairman's report was proposed by Dave West, seconded by Roger Slater and carried.

5. To receive and adopt the Accounts for the year ending 31st December 2017. Tony Beard (Independent Auditor) reported on the Accounts for the year ended 31/12/2017 and talked through the various schedules highlighting the reduction in fees income due to lower numbers and the extra costs incurred by the revamp of the web site. The AGM noted the sponsorship in kind from Prescott and King Dick, which does not appear in the accounts

Tony Beard also confirmed the fact that Committee members received no remuneration or expenses for their involvement in the running of the championship and that the accounts had been prepared by himself with his cost being offset by an equivalent sponsorship donation which the committee expressed their thanks.

A resolution to adopt the accounts was proposed by John Williams, seconded by Dave West and carried.

6. The following Officers were elected to serve until the next AGM:-

Position	Name	Proposed By	Seconded By
President (Chairman)	Alex Smith	John Williams	Stuart Bickley
Vice President (Vice Chair)	David West	John Williams	Stuart Bickley
Secretary,	Roger Slater	John Williams	Stuart Bickley
Honorary Treasurer	Alex Smith	John Williams	Stuart Bickley

7. *Committee Members* – Fred Currell, John Williams, Stuart Bickley and Jeff Allan were reelected to the Committee - proposed by Dave West seconded by Roger Slater. The Chairman identified the continuing need to supplement the committee and invited any member with an interest to make contact.

Note: Future members wishing to stand at the next AGM for the committee should notify the secretary at least 14 days before the meeting.

- 8. Any other business. It was agreed that the monetary awards for the first three places should be shown on the web site. It was also proposed that, in future, all awards would have a monetary value with only a momento rather than a large silver cup.
- *9. Date of Next Meeting* The Chairman informed the meeting that the annual Awards Dinner was scheduled for the later weekend next year on Saturday 26th January 2019. (to be confirmed.) and it is proposed that the next AGM be held at Lea Marston at 3.30 pm on that day. The next Committee meeting is to be arranged for 28th March 2018 at Lea Marston.

The Chairman closed the meeting at 16.15am.